Grandma’s apron

I don’t think our kids know what an apron is. I remember my grandmother always insisting I wore one when I visited her. She would say that it was always easier to wash an apron than a dress. I had several full pinafores which were an apron with a bib attached. I still wear one when I am cooking but it is a plasticized fabric so I sponge it off rather than wash it and when I forget to put it on, I nearly always make a mess of myself.

The principal use of Grandma’s apron was to protect the dress underneath, but along with that, it served as a potholder for removing hot pans from the oven.

It was wonderful for drying children’s tears, and on occasion was even used for cleaning out dirty ears.
From the chicken coop, the apron was used for carrying eggs, fussy chicks, and sometimes half-hatched eggs to be finished in the warming oven.

When company came, those aprons were ideal hiding places for shy kids. And when the weather was cold, grandma wrapped it around her arms. Those big old aprons wiped many a perspiring brow, bent over the hot wood stove.

Chips and kindling wood were brought into the kitchen in that apron. From the garden, it carried all sorts of vegetables. After the peas had been shelled, it carried out the hulls. In the fall, the apron was used to bring in apples that had fallen from the trees.

When unexpected company drove up the road, it was surprising how much furniture that old apron could dust in a matter of seconds. When dinner was ready, Grandma walked out onto the porch, waved her apron, and the men knew it was time to come in from the fields to dinner.
It will be a long time before someone invents something that will replace that ‘old-time apron’ that served so many purposes.

Grandma used to set her hot baked apple pies on the window sill to cool. Her granddaughters set theirs on the kitchen counter to thaw.

Related articles

5 Responses

  1. Oh, you’re so right! We have all forgotten about the aprons. You really have got all the advantages with it here. Very well written I must say 🙂 Excellent post really.

    I remember that my Mom had one too. Of course many Mom’s in those days were attending schools of domestic science and learnng all about how to take care of a home properly. I know my Mom did and I must say it paid off. Ah, her cooking were excellent and especially the sauces. Yummy. And she really knew how to make – or more like sorcery – dinner out from nothing. My parents didn’t have much money.

    Thanks for passing by leaving the nice comment 🙂

  2. I always wear an apron when I’m baking. I’m a messy baker and it helps to keep the clothes clean.

  3. Many of the things you mentioned about “Grandma’s apron” were among my own memories of my Grandma. She always wore and apron -always! Hers were a bib apron but with armhole openings and they tied in the back. I started about six years ago making bib aprons but the pattern I use has a strap type neck and then a slimmer tie in the back, plus mine are squared whereas my grandma’s aprons all were rounded at the bottom and often had lace trim around them too.
    I’ve come to love using an apron and it’s saved many items of clothing from getting badly stained with tomato sauces, greasy substances, chocolate -you name it! For the life of me, I can’t undertand why so many people go without an apron as they’re easy to throw on, equally easy to launder too and can save a whole lot of regrets with respect to other clothing.

  4. I have an apron. It was my son’s when he worked at McDonald’s. I’ve had others but I don’t know where they are now. I tend to wear an apron only on holidays when I am dressed nice. I never knew either of my grandmother’s.

  5. I sure remember aprons. Going to high school there was a course called home economics. Before we took the course we had to make an apron. I still remember that apron. Bright yellow with small blue flowers. I don’t remember wearing it after the course but isure remember the apron. And it had big pockets and we made a matching pot holder. oh, memories.

Leave a Reply

