Page Rank – does it matter

Want to check your Google Page Rank just visit this site and type in your blog address.

I guess the Page Rank (PR) is not important if you are getting visitors and you are not interested in making some money on your blog but if you do wish to make a little extra than page rank unfortunately is all important. The advertisers generally do not want to have anything to do with a blog that is under a PR3. A blog that has a PR5 if they wished to make some money with it probably could be earning $20 for every advertising post they did. I have a PR3 on both blogs so earn about $10 per advertisement on the Blogger (Mexico) blog but WordPress.com, that is this one, does not allow me to write advertisements.

Why did so many blogs including my Blogger blog get put back to 0 in October last year. I don’t think there is a straight answer to that. One reason is that Google was working out a new algorithm which determines where your blog or website will appear in the search results. The other reason seems to be that Google decided to penalize PayPerPost and all those associated with it.

Smorty, another advertising company, put this advice on their site.

There have been some recent changes that search engines have made with regard to sponsored postings.

Smorty would like to offer you some advice on this issue. search engines have primarily targeted member blogs and reduced their Page ranks across the board. Although this WILL NOT REDUCE your rankings or readership, your blog will receive more campaign offers if it has a higher page rank. To prevent any future loss of page rank due to this issue you can take the following steps:

1. Remove all sponsored post tags on each of your posts. Search engines can follow these tags to determine if you are being paid for posts.

2. Remove any other tags like “hire me” and “review me”. Any general affiliate banners are fine to keep.

Since you are only obligated to keep an advertisement on you blog between 14 days to 1 month depending on the company you are writing for it would be OK to remove posts older than that.

There seems to be ambiguous advice about using ‘do follow’ or ‘no follow’ code in the html of your blog. I can’t figure out if Google penalized for that or not. Occasionally you will come across a blog that states it uses ‘do follow’ but I can’t answer any questions on that because I don’t know.

I know my old blogger template had ‘do follow’ on it as I put it there, and now I have a new template it is not on there.

Another thing Google doesn’t like is duplicate content. Which is irritating as if one has two or more blogs, with different folk visiting, and one has written what they think is a good post you could be penalized by posting it twice. Something I recently found out and have been guilty of. So the best thing to do is link to it from the other blog. Which I will do from My Mexican Pot of Gold to here as I think this post may be of interest to someone who checks in there. Plus I just got a sneaky link to that blog.

I am trying to build up the other blog as I can see it as a way to bring in a bit more cash and contribute to our Mexican trip and although it is in its infancy I would very much appreciate anyone who links to it as it will help me. I will be doing more posting there in future. For example my Heads or Tails will come from there now as well as other things although I will keep this one going until the domain name expires and it just goes back to the wordpress address. This money making thing might be a flash in the pan but I feel I have to give it a try, as I shared before our pension is cut this year by $500 a month, because of the nasty tax man, and this might help a bit. I have also got my beady eye on and Mobile Internet Device as the ideal thing to take on trips. They seem quite inexpensive and might be just the thing to keep in touch and blog on vacation. Anyone have one?

Hope this answers some of the questions I received in my mail this morning.

Related articles

6 Responses

  1. Yes. PageRank does seem to matter, and I think Google has just been mean. Several people, including me, have gotten at least part of their pagerank back recently, so maybe Google is backing off? I tried removing tags and such on my LiveJournal blog like Smorty said, but it hasn’t changed anything.

    Another option you might have is to point your domain to a Blogger blog. Since the actual domain has the PageRank, it won’t matter where it is hosted. That way you could use both blogs for money-making purposes, if you want. Also, some opps are only available if you have your own domain.

  2. I’m just happy that google gave me back a page rank. That PR0 I had really sucked.

  3. Thanks for explaining all that Vic Grace. I hear everyone talking about it but did not understand it completely. Mine is 5 it seems but frankly I don’t want to do paid per post so it doesn’t matter a jot. I actually don’t see how it works for a company to spend the money because I would never take any notice of a paid post in considering something. But maybe it brings name recognition for the company and that is worth something.

  4. I got that message too from Smorty -along with a notice that I had some kind of error with a post I had done for them that I had already been paid for and though I replied to them about that, they never made any corrections on their part. I think PPP has a thing that you have to keep their posts up, don’t they?
    Anyway, I never removed any of my PPP posts, kept all the stuff in my side bar too and my page rank has just returned recently to a 3. When they first returned a page rank to me, it was a 2 and I just noticed the other day it is now back to a 3. I’ve been doing the survey things which pay pennies for each survey and then, you don’t get paid until you have amassed a total of $20. I haven’t checked for any opportunities with PPP for probably 6-8 weeks as I was really ticked at the “no opportunity” thing there and Smorty, I haven’t bothered with since their letter about removing everything, and telling me I had a post in error that they had approved like two or three months earlier but that wasn’t in error at all. One of these days, I may check on the PPP ops again -I haven’t really decided as yet. The Google punishment thing though really ticked me off but good.

  5. Checked mine and it’s now a 4. Dang, in real life that would make me just another ugly guy…even at 2:30 AM!

    Hey Vic/Jeni, can you send me an email with info on this stuff? I may want to take a trip to New Zealand someday. 🙂

  6. Have you seen internet marketing uncut bonus?

Leave a Reply

