Heads or Tails – Direction

Skittles has a meme called Heads or Tails this week the theme is Direction.

We have been thinking in a whole new direction these last couple of days. As some of you know I have been whining about the long cold winters here in the Northern Cariboo. For example today is 6C or almost 43F today and although the sun is shining the wind is bitterly cold. However it is lovely and warm in my solarium and I have lots of little plants happily sunning themselves.

The new direction is ‘Lets move to Mexico’, we are seriously considering it. We were thinking of just going down for a few weeks each winter but now we are looking at that again. We had our friend S. over for supper last night and he brought it up. He pointed out that we could live on our pensions very well in Mexico. The cost of travelling from Canada to Mexico and back would cover several months rent. There would be no propane to pay for, no wood to haul, our hydro would probably be less, although I would need air conditioning. Food costs are lower and gas is half what we pay in Canada. Plus no snow to move and ice to chip. Lots of people do it but it had never crossed our minds before. I am quite excited about the prospect I am ready to get in my little yellow car and drive down right now, but of course we can’t.

So now I have to research everything there is to know about Canadians living in Mexico. We will be going down next February for six weeks and have a good look around. If it seems good we could very well come back and put this place up for sale and move down by Fall.

In order to earn a little money for this trip I have resurrected my old blog and called it My Mexican Pot of Gold and hopefully I will get some earnings for writing for various companies. My page rank on that blog jumped back up to 3 from 0 so the monetizing companies have been contacting me. Every little bit helps doesn’t it?

17 Responses

  1. My brother is an ex-pat Canadian that lived in Puerto Vallarta for many years. He loved it 🙂 Best wishes for your new direction 🙂

    Happy HOT day!

  2. Come the middle of February I’m about ready to move to Mexico too! Good luck!

  3. AS someone who has made the ‘big move’ (although not to another country) I can highly recommend it – new friends, new sites, new weather 🙂 I always said to myself that if it didn’t work out I would just move back but I haven’t even given it a thought, not even for a second. Go for it!

  4. This certainly is a new direction if there ever was one. Totally 180° change! I would worry about the violence that we keep hearing about there, but I’m sure it isn’t everywhere. And I am always in favor of people following their dreams (like I did, and people still think I was crazy!).

    So go investigate! I’ll be anxious to hear what happens. Good luck to you!

  5. If this is something you’re interested in, let me send you some news stories. I’m in San Diego, so Mexico is literally just a hop, skip and a jump away. I’ve been there many times.

    I would love to share with you some of the information I’ve heard about.

    Happy HoT 🙂

  6. Ya know, lots and lots of folks in the states become “Snowbirds” and go south for the winter -Florida, Texas, Arizona -are frequently prime target areas for them. Living in Canada, you really have no “southern” alternative that would still keep you in Canada and if Mexico suits you, then go for it. I’ve heard it is a lot cheaper in living expenses there than it is in even the southern states here so that logic makes good sense to me too. Check it out. See if you think you’d like it and if you can adapt and then, do what you feel the most comfortable with in the end. I’m just gonna stay put here in good old Pennsylvania -gotta have something to gripe about and the weather, high fuel prices, lousy politics here, are always good for any conversation along those lines, ya see. Besides, if I were to leave, I’d be going it alone and I kind of like having my daughter, the little ones here, my son and older daughter fairly close by too. I’m not THAT much of a loner when it’s all said and done.

  7. Oh my! I hope you do it! That sounds lovely! Good luck with your new direction, whatever it turns out to be.

    smarmoofus

  8. You were right…every little bits it is help.

    Will you visit mine Thanks

  9. Brrrr cold weather. I would love to be somewhere warm in the winter.

  10. What a crazy and fun idea. Be sure to let us know how the 6 weeks go. 🙂

  11. Methinks this might be my 1st visit to your blog … and such a move would certainly be a big change. Good luck with whatever you decide. I took a more playful look at this week’s prompt … posting at Small Reflections this morning.
    Hugs and blessings,

  12. Great idea! I’ve thought about it on more than one occasion. Still have snow here, a blizzard yesterday and a cold wind blowing today. Where is spring? Mexico, I guess. Good luck – if nothing else, it will be an experience to do the investigative work!

  13. […] http://caribooponderer.com/2008/04/21/heads-or-tails-direction/As some of you know I have been whining about the long cold winters here in the Northern Cariboo. For example today is 6C or almost 43F today and although the sun is shining the wind is bitterly cold. However it is lovely and warm in my … […]

  14. Wow, that would be a new direction. We are moving but just a small hop backwards. Good luck with the big decision and the research.

  15. Know several people who have made similar big moves and all have said it was the best thing they ever did. Good Luck whatever you decide.

  16. Wow – that’s a huge change of direction! I only want what’s best for you, my friend. I hope everything works out for the best.

  17. Today, that sounds like such a good idea. This howling, screaming wind and blowing snow just need to STOP. We have some American friends who have considered doing this, but the distance from family and friends has been their stumbling block, so far.

Leave a Reply

