Sunday Scribblings – Compose

Sunday Scribblings, is a writing prompt meme. This week the writing prompt is Compose.

Forty-eight years ago when I was in the Fourth Form in my boarding school in England, our teacher, Miss Lynton-Boggle, her real name, nicknamed Armadillo-Bogey by us rotten kids, gave us a rather unfortunate choice for our homework assignment. Compose an essay called “My teacher”.

One of the older girls in the class, Anna, approached me about writing her composition and I was flattered and a little stupid in that I happily put all her suggestions into correctly spelled and grammatically correct English. However the content was not very kind, we slammed that poor teacher and every flaw was described in vivid detail. Even now I think the teacher a bit stupid in giving a bunch of thirteen year old girls such a topic.

There were reprisals of course, Anna was expelled. It was thought I had been easily led on by her so I escaped expulsion but I was punished in a uniquely  English way. I was ‘sent to Coventry’, which means no one was allowed to speak to me or have anything to do with me for the remainder of term. I had to leave my dormitory and sleep in the attic by myself for the duration. For some it would have been a dreadful punishment, but for me, a loner, it hardly bothered me at all, especially as there were lots of books kept up in the attic.

What was the greater punishment was seeing Miss Lynton-Boggle cry.

3 Responses

  1. Ohmigosh, what a story. A great read!

  2. See, this is one of the reasons I don’t like teenagers. 😉

  3. What a truly touching tale of bad judgment. Seems like we are either cruel at 13 or easily led by those who are, without much middle ground between the two. I liked your last line best. It proves you had a heart even at a young age.

Leave a Reply

