Sunday Scribblings – Fearless

Sunday Scribblings, is a writing prompt meme I have joined last week. This week the writing prompt is Fearless.

I had a hard time thinking of a suitable topic for fearless until my husband and I were talking this morning of soon putting up the Hummingbird feeders and I thought that would be a great subject because those tiny little birds are truly fearless.

The tiny Hummingbird will not hesitate to dive bomb a hawk or other bird of prey that invades its territory even going to the trouble of warning the much bigger birds that it is about to be dive bombed by giving off a high-pitched squawk and often other Hummingbirds will join in until they chase it away.

The Hummingbird can out manoeuvre just about everything as it is able to go up or down, sideways, backwards and even upside down. When I take in the feeders to replenish them I have had them almost chase me into the house telling me off all the while. I have often been out in the yard and a Hummingbird will fly right up to my face to inspect me or they will dive bomb Annie the dog while she dozes in the sun, not because she is a threat just to show her who is boss in the yard this year.

I remember one time being in the centre of a Hummingbird dispute. Two birds flew around me bickering and as I moved they did, it was quite difficult getting away from them, I was concerned I would get a beak in the eye! Last year one of the fearless birds tried to check out our living room and flew right into the screen door and got its beak stuck. We had to gently tap its beak until it was released and flew away.

Mind you I think Hummingbirds as well as people who are truly fearless may be more foolish than wise. Fear is also a safeguard against legitimate dangers don’t you think?

9 Responses

  1. Hummingbirds are a species that seems not to like the area where I live as I rarely see them around here. Therefore, I’m not really very “in the know” about the things they do -like dive bombing even people or dogs. Good post though Vic and I do agree with you about the fear factor thing too.

  2. Hummingbirds love red. Going into woods during hunting season, we always wore red jackets to keep from being confused with deer, bear or whatever. We would be dived into by hummingbirds who apparently mistook for overgrown nectar-bearing blossoms.

  3. We don’t have Hummingbirds in Ireland, but I loved your post. I think that fear is part of our safety mechanism.

  4. If they were any bigger, I don’t think it would be safe to go outside during the summer here!

  5. I always feel fear is a defense mechanism.

    shapely ghosts

  6. Great minds think alike….I just told my husband this morning that we need to get a Hummingbird Feeder! I’m taking a blogging break this week but I was real tempted to do the Sunday Scribblings – I love it!!! Off to work on my back yard garden!!

  7. I enjoyed your post. I would like to offer some advice to anyone who wishes to make their own nectar solution and also to offer some tips on what to do if you have trouble with your hunningbird feeders leaking. I hope you and your readers will find this information helpful.

    To make your own nectar solution, use 1 part white granulated cane sugar to 4 parts water.

    If you choose to make your own homemade nectar solution, you need to bring this solution to a boil for 1 1/2 minutes and then let it cool down. Now you have a mixture much more similar to that of the flower nectar.

    Nectar solutions should be changed every three to five days, because hot weather can cause rapid bacterial growth.

    It is not necessary to add food coloring, especially if the feeder has a red blossom at the feeding point.

    Red food coloring is unhealthy for hummingbirds.

    There is no perfect solution as to how to prevent hummingbird feeders from leaking or dripping – feeders will drip occasionally. However, there are several things that can be done to minimize the amount of leaking or dripping that occurs, so that you can truly enjoy your feeder.

    1. Always fill the feeder completely full with cool nectar. The stopper should be inserted and the feeder quickly inverted to avoid any air entering the feeder. Tube feeders operate on a vacuum principle, and the feeder must be filled completely full in order for the vacuum to form!

    2. Only hang your feeder in shade or partial shade. The cooler the feeder, the less likely it is to drip.

    3. Make sure to keep the feeder very clean by regularly cleaning the vessel with hot water and a bottle brush. Soap should not be used during cleaning, because its residue may cause your feeder to drip. As an alternative, try periodically using a vinegar rinse to thoroughly clean your feeder and then rinse well with hot water.

    4. As a last resort, the stopper assembly can be placed in very hot water to soften the tube. You can bend it slightly to increase the angle. This will stop dripping, but might make it more difficult for nectar to come down the tube.

    5. If the dripping of this type of feeder is too much for you, then try a top-feeding hummingbird feeder instead.

    If you would like much more information about hummingbirds, please click the link below. The site contains many articles about hummingbirds, video clips about hummingbirds, an informative tips booklet on hummingbirds, and much more.

    Click Here To Visit About Hummingbirds

    Happy hummingbird watching everyone!

  8. I think hummingbirds are gorgeous.

  9. That’s a good one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

