People are noticing and I am newly funked

djpg.jpgI have mentioned to my blog readers that I seem to be is some sort of funk but I was not aware that anyone else knew. On Sunday my pastor’s wife came and sat by me and said “I’ve noticed you don’t seem to be your usual bouncy self lately, what is wrong”? I was surprised, and doubly so when my husband chimed in and said he has noticed that I seem a bit down too lately.

I can’t explain it, in fact I did not realize I was showing it. I don’t know what is causing it. I think it must be end of winter blues although we have had lovely sunny weather lately and the snow is slowly melting away, only about 2 ft left. I have not felt like doing anything although I am eating right and my health is pretty good, I am going for walks and the chores are all done, I am reading interesting books and I have been taking drives out of the village, so I have much to be thankful for so what’s my problem.

It is true though that I am feeling even less social than I usually do and that has spread into blogging. It is not that I don’t want interaction with my blogging friends because I love to hear from you it has just been very difficult for me to reach out lately. So bear with me while I slog my way out of this.

I wrote this post a couple of days ago as a draft but now I have something new to be funked about, if I can use that as a verb. The woman I have been training to take over my post as treasurer for the library phoned this morning to say she was quitting as she found it too stressful. I wish she had decided that before I had spent all this time training her. I called the library  and said I would be down this afternoon to do this months payroll and start the tax return, but I have quit and  they had better start looking for someone else. Now I have to start all that training again.  When hubby gets home he will be upset too as he knows I can’t just leave them to get on with it, or at least I don’t think I would feel right about doing that, so my time will not be as free this summer as I had hoped.

9 Responses

  1. Vic, I cannot imagine you in a funk. Funky, yes. But funked? Er, no!

    Never.

    You just keep smiling …

  2. Ditto to what David said 😉

  3. Depression is a very real illness. Not saying you’re suffering with depression. If, however, your funk fog doesn’t dissipate, or if things take a drastic turn for the worse, do yourself a favor and talk to your doc.

    Take care.

  4. This funk thing is spreading,

    I do believe mine is DEPRESSION!

  5. I hope you’re funk ends soon. :o)

  6. I hope it passes soon Vic, it’s been a long winter I know but at least you get some sunshine with your snow.
    What a bummer about the library thing. I hope someone else turns up soon.

  7. I’m so sorry to hear about what has happened with your job at the library. You must be so frustrated and disappointed about that.

    I have times when I feel “funked” and sometimes it lasts longer than I would like. I especially struggle with it on and off during winter, and any time I feel stressed by something happening in my life. I hope that you’ll be feeling better soon.

  8. I have diagnosed depression, but I still have a hard time understanding why sometimes I just get like this for no reason and can’t get over it. I’m not saying you have depression, I’m just saying that I can understand.

    I will be thinking of you Vic. ((((HUGS))))

  9. Well, you know I have addressed similar issues I’ve been experiencing here too. Hope I’ve not been contagious to you. LOL Seriously, I think everyone does go through some blue funks from time to time – some light, others of a stronger variation. And I agree too with the above suggestion that if it hangs around TOO long, gets TOO difficult, please see a doctor.
    Or – use the free counseling services that are rendered by the many bloggers who read your pieces too. Always happy to oblige ya know. We can all muddle through this junk together that way.

Leave a Reply

