Heads or Tails – Fool

Skittles started the Heads or Tails Meme some time ago this time we are writing anything we like about Fool.Source: Wikipedia

British folklore links April Fool’s Day to the town of Gotham, the legendary town of fools located in Nottinghamshire. This picture is of a bronze statue located in Nottingham, England

According to the legend, it was traditional in the 13th century for any road that the King placed his foot upon to become public property. So when the citizens of Gotham heard that King John planned to travel through their town, they refused him entry, not wishing to lose their main road. When the King heard this, he sent soldiers to the town. But when the soldiers arrived in Gotham, they found the town full of lunatics engaged in foolish activities such as drowning fish or attempting to cage birds in roofless fences. Their foolery was all an act, but the King fell for the ruse and declared the town too foolish to warrant punishment.

King John, a particularly rotten sort, is the same king that the Robin Hood stories mention, and who was also forced to sign the Magna Carta by the Barons of England in 1215, which was an attempt to curtailed royal authority.

How does this relate to Batman and Robin?

Related articles

19 Responses

  1. That’s a great story! I didn’t know about that folklore! Cool!

  2. I never knew about that Vic!

    You always teach me things I didn’t know.

    Have a great Tuesday!

  3. I never knew April Fool’s Day origins. Thanks!

  4. Is there any connection between the name of this town (Gotham) and that being the name of the city where Batman and Robin lived? Oh wait, that was Gotham City wasn’t it? Just wondering, ya know.

  5. Oh, thanks for the little history lesson!

  6. Hahaha at Jeni. I was going to ask about Gotham, too.

    That’s cool how they fooled the King!!!

    Thanks for the welcome back. πŸ™‚

  7. I didn’t know where April Fool’s Day came from. Thanks for the information. It was very interesting. I love how I always learn something when I visit you!

  8. I had not idea what ’caused’ it. Nice post!

  9. Thanks for informing me about the background. ItΒ΄s good to know why IΒ΄m fooled each and every year! πŸ™‚

  10. Wow……….so very VERY interesting!!!!

    My April FOOL is posted. We’re celebrating her 39th birthday today. Come on over if you can find some free time! Have a piece of cake, and enjoy the good story behind it all!!!

  11. That was interesting, I’d never heard that story before.

    Happy HoT!! πŸ™‚

  12. What a wonderful post!! Thanks for the giggle. Happy Tuesday! πŸ™‚

  13. Great post, very interesting!

    Happy HoT, have a great week.

  14. What a fabulous post! Great stuff! πŸ˜€ Thanks for visiting me as well.

  15. What a terrific story. So glad you shared it, as I love learning new tales.

  16. Very interesting! I never knew any of that!

  17. Oh I love this story. Thanks a lot!

  18. That’s really interesting. I didn’t know that. I like the shot you used for this post too.

  19. Hey Vic, did you see that you are the featured blog on the Heads or Tails website? Pretty cool! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

