I am a Canadian now

On Monday morning at 9am we were at the Canada Government offices to have our paperwork confirmed in order to go ahead and receive our Canadian Citizenship. There were 43 of us taking this step so it was not a huge group probably because we had chosen to go further north for the ceremony rather than south where I am sure there would have been many more people. After having every document verified with the documentation I had sent in five months ago and going through some additional hoops we were advised to meet at a local school at 10:30am.

So we went out for breakfast and reconvened at the school at the appropriate time. Again we had to prove who we were and sign a document to that effect and were given a seat number. The RCMP in full red uniform were there, a clerk of the court and a judge who would take the oaths. Also the local politician for the area and some of the children from the school.

After a talk on the responsibilities, rights and benefits of being a Canadian each one of us were asked to stand and lift our right hand and state our name, then we were taken through the oath in both English and French. We were told we had to take the oath in both languages and if we could not speak one of them to do the best to follow along. Then we were called out individually to receive our Citizenship cards.

Following this were a few speeches and finally the Canadian national anthem sung in English and French.

So from now on I will not be saying I am British I am Canadian.

14 Responses

  1. And, congratulations to you too on taking this big step!

  2. So now I am blogging with another fellow Canadian. Welcome and congratulations!

    Blessings,
    Mary

  3. Congratulations Vic Grace, I’m surprised it was so quick for you. I’m proud to be a Canadian but I call myself an australocanadian for I’ll always be Australian. It’s just now I’m both.

  4. Another wonderful Canadian I can call a friend!!! Congratulations.

  5. Congratulations, eh?!

  6. Congrats to the newest Canadian!

  7. Congratulations Vic!

    By the way, I think part of the reason our climates/snow are so different is because I’m in a narrow strip of warmer climate zone that follows the Fraser River – it’s actually pretty interesting to see on a climate zone map. I know of a ranch right down by the river where it’s so warm that they’ve been able to grow soft fruits, such as grapes, that most people think only grow in the Okanagan. It’s not that warm where I am 🙂

  8. Congratulations Vic! Sounds exciting to take the step of becoming a citizen as an adult in the country you now live in.

  9. Congratulations my fellow Canadian! :o)

  10. Congratulations to you. I’m glad it worked out so well.

  11. Congratulations, and ‘welcome to Canada’, haha. Did your husband just become a Canadian citizen too? Or just you? I’m a 2nd gen Canadian. Born in Smithers BC, living in the Okanagan now. Haven’t gone all that far, haha.

  12. Hey Congrats!
    I did that when I was 14….from a Scot to a Canadian with my mom.

    My grandfather and best friend came to watch the ceremony.

  13. Congratulations to you Vic!

  14. Congratulations! And Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

