A loving tribute

Today a woman who lived in the village passed away, after a long battle with cancer. She was one of the most positive, loving people I have ever met. She was the cook at the local school until about eighteen months ago when it became too much for her. Throughout her illness she always smiled, joked and had a positive word for every person she met. She battled the cancer for four years but this morning in the arms of her husband and in her own home she passed on.

Some would say the cancer won, but I say she won, she did not give in, as her body weakened her spirit became stronger and she was an example to many including me. I wish she had been able to share what it was about her Christian faith that kept her so strong.

This is not the first time I have noticed that those with a strong faith seem to get stronger when the battle is the fiercest. There was a retired Salvation Army major living in the village, he has moved now to be closer to his family. He also was diagnosed with cancer and his attitude was so upbeat and positive despite the prognosis that one could hardly believe it.  When our friend moved to the village and first met the major he was incredulous at how positive Major B. was. Our friend S. is not a spiritual person but I think the Major’s faith despite everything that was happening to him, spoke to S. as nothing else has done.

What is it about great faith that buoys the spirit up when everything around one should pull it down?

6 Responses

  1. Oh I am so sorry.
    I hate cancer…I hate it taking so many people away.

  2. I’m sorry for your loss. 😦

  3. I think in many people, once you come face to face with a disease that strikes so much terror into many, your perspective on things that are important changes and the goofy things you once regarded as having as high a priority as things that really should have priority becomes much clearer in your mind’s eye. Well, at least that’s what it did for me. After having worried myself silly for years, because of my family’s medical history (lots of cancer there), when I did get that as a diagnosis, I changed my outlook completely. Now, as long as I am able to be up, moving around, get out once in a while, I am content. Spending time -good, bad or indifferent time – just with my kids and grandkids is my priority now. I take each day as it comes to me and usually try to do my best to make it as good as I can then. Somedays, I fail at that but even that is ok too -I try to get my mind back into a positive vein the next day. That doesn’t mean I don’t still believe in Murphy and his law though cause things, once they do go downhill, do see to keep going that way for a while, but I make fun of those days. Sarcasm has a lot of good things to it too ya know – makes for some good biting humor at times to make fun of the situation that may be at hand at times.
    It’s always good to hear though of someone who didn’t concede defeat to the disease but chose to live life doing as much as she could, as long as she could still muster the strength too.

  4. Sorry to hear of your loss. I agree it sounds like she won and now she can rest.

    Take care…

  5. This is a great post, Vic. I have seen this too – I think it is comforting to know that you are going ‘home’ to your Father to be free of pain and disease. Although, I cannot say for sure, I’m just assuming. I also think a lot of the strength is there for the loved ones surrounding the person, so they do not have to suffer so much.

  6. what a fabulous tribute – ‘some say the cancer won – I say she did.’ Ab-so-LUT-ly! I love to read about strong women like her. Thank you for posting this.

Leave a Reply

