Heads or Tails – Love

Skittles started a meme every Tuesday called Heads or Tails, basically she provides a word and we can interpret it however we like. It seems an obvious choice to choose Love this Valentine’s week.

It was ten years ago almost to the day when I had a dream.

First let me fill you in on a little background. I had parted ways with my husband three years before, after many years of emotional abuse which had finally escalated into physical abuse. Now I was happy with my three teenage sons, even though it was a financial struggle as my ex-husband had returned to Europe and did not offer any support.

“A man in my life is not on the agenda,” I was quick to assure my friends, “the three men I am raising is enough”.

One night after returning from my job at a local hotel where I had worked the evening shift, I went to bed as usual and dreamed. Now I can number on one hand how many dreams I have ever remembered when I have woken up. It is not something that I do very often at all. However this night I dreamt of a tall fair haired man coming up to me and kissing me on the cheek, that is all, and I woke up. I knew that I knew this was a dream from God, but what did it mean?

The next day I was at work on the day shift and went to join my friend with whom I usually took my break, but she was leaving the hotel pub in a hurry.

“I can’t stay today, I have just had a call and I have to go,” she said as she rushed by “Sit with Dave, will you, and keep him company.”

“I can’t, I don’t even know him,” I exclaimed, but nevertheless I walked over and joined him as there wasn’t many available seats in the pub at lunch hour.

“Hi, I don’t know if you remember me”, I said in way of an introduction, “I’m Linda’s friend, she suggested I join you”, as I slid into the booth.

We chit chatted a bit. I knew Dave’s history a little, I knew that he was Linda’s brother-in-law, and that Linda’s sister had left him a couple of years previously, just leaving a note on the table saying that he was a good guy but she needed to see the world. She ran off with a tour bus driver! Dave of course was the last one to know that she was having an affair. He had been pretty devastated at the time and Linda and her family thought the world of him.

As we were chatting I mentioned something about church and Dave, still munching his French fries, observed “It is time I went back to church.” He went on to explain that he had not been inside a church for over forty years.

The blinders came off and I knew this was the fellow in the dream. There he was, six foot two inches, fair hair turning grey and great big blue eyes. I was flabbergasted, but I hid it well and just said “Maybe I will see you at church sometime,” made my goodbyes and left, wondering what would happen next.

The next day was Saturday and I half expected a call from Dave about going to church, I had told him I always covered the Front Desk of the hotel on Saturdays, so he knew where to find me. No call came so the next day the boys and I drove to church and when my pastor started preaching he was talking to me “Sometimes God puts an opportunity in front of you, but he leaves it up to you to grasp it”.

What was I to do? I felt as if some great cosmic hand was nudging me, I spent the next two days trying to pluck up courage to call Dave. I had never called any man for a date before, but by Tuesday I felt I had to do something, so I picked up the phone and called him.

“Hi,” I squeaked, and told him who was calling.

“Who”, he said, totally deflating me, and I had to remind him of our conversation the previous week.

“I wonder if you would like to attend a Valentine’s Dinner at our church, the school is putting it on”, I offered. A safe place I thought.

“I am busy that night, but how about tomorrow night, I will pick you up from work, if you like” he said kindly. I think he was embarrassed that he had forgotten who I was and so we made a date.

His ex-wife’s family, were happy to see him dating and his father-in-law, an old man of about eighty-five came in to the hotel one day and asked to speak to me.

“He’s a good man, my daughter treated him badly.” he said, “You won’t get better.” God knew that after my previous marriage I needed references.

Us Five months later we were married. Here is our wedding picture, and it has been a really happy marriage, we have both healed from our previous experiences and my boys like him tremendously. He was instrumental in helping my oldest son complete art school, as on my own I could not have done so. He has contributed more to my sons lives in the ten years we have been married than their father did in the eighteen.

So I believe in dreams, and I believe in grabbing the opportunities that come my way, and if it is not the right one then I believe God will close that door and open another.

View more participants in the “Heads or Tails” meme.

24 Responses

  1. What a wonderful story of how you met and fell in love!!!

  2. That’s a beautiful story. Thank goodness you were paying attention.

  3. that is a beautiful story, and I am glad that things worked out for you….Thanks for sharing…

  4. wow! amazing love story …

  5. What a truly inspirational story. Thank you for trusting us enough to share it with us.

  6. What a wonderful post!

    I doubt it was coincidence that the sermon was what it was. I have a feeling your pastor got a little nudge on that one.

    I’m so glad you both have been able to heal over the years. The support you got from your ex-in-laws was wonderful 🙂
    —-
    P.S.
    A little birdie (Jeni) told me you have fast internet now? Yippeee!

  7. So Interesting! What a delightful, yet unusual account of your meeting. Thanks for sharing.

    He looks like a lovely man … he looks kind. I’m glad you found a good one … to restore your faith in man and mankind!

    TTFN … Cis

  8. Vic – that was absolutely beautiful! What a wonderful story about your marriage. Nice to know that dreams to come true now and again, isn’t it?

  9. Sharing this touched my heart strings….very profound share.

    My LOVE is shared in form of a poem.

  10. That was a really nice story. I’m glad that everything fell in place at last. 🙂

  11. Reached here from Authorblog.

    Fantastic read here and so good to know your dream has come true. I wish you many more years of happiness. Thank you for sharing the message of love.

  12. Thats a nice story you have…. Blessings!

  13. Oh Vic that is a wonderful story…thank you for sharing that with us…dreams are so very powerful…and often worth listening…I believe you were sent that message…and that you and your hubby were meant to meet and be together….again what a wonderful story….

  14. One should always believe in dreams.. hey nice story

  15. Wow! That is an amazing story. God knew you weren’t looking, but He had better things in mind for you. I especially loved the part about the sermon.

    Thank you so much for sharing.

  16. Awwww. that’s such a beautiful story! You guys look great together too.

  17. That is such an amazing and beautiful story. What a wonderful gift God gave you.

  18. What a beautiful story! Thank you for sharing it.

  19. A beautiful love story!

  20. How wonderful! That’s truly a Love story. Thanks for sharing! Happy Tuesday. 🙂

  21. You made me cry!!! What a beautiful story!

  22. Oh my gosh – I have goosebumps and tears… what a beautiful story Vic – you tell it so well – thank you.

  23. I have to tell you how important your story is to me. I have given up hope of ever having a relationship again after my husband’s death. But maybe I am wrong? I’m not the type that likes to hold on to hopes like this because the disappointment could be so great. But somehow your post has reached something inside of me. Thank you.

  24. What a lovely story to read on Valentine’s Day. I am definitely linking!

Leave a Reply

