The Blogosphere contributes to global understanding

I have received a rather special award from Misty at My Dogs Keep Me Sane

unconditionalfriendshipaward.jpg

Misty has such a wonderful way of describing the friendships we make online, I certainly could not have said it better.

My friends here in the blogosphere have shown me support, encouragement, and love without the reservations, judgments, and restrictions which face-to-face relationships sometimes fall victim to. It doesn’t matter what size I am, what color I am, if I’m physically attractive or not, or if I have a disability – you took the time to get to know me through my words, my thoughts, and, yes, my goofiness too. You have picked me up when I was ready to hit bottom, you have laughed with me, you have been my cheering squad, you have shared your own lives with me – and you’ve done all of this because you took the time to get to know me without any judgments. You have honored me with some of the most wonderful friendships I have ever encountered! For that, I thank you with all my heart!

I would like to add that the blogosphere disregards age differences. Some of my greatest pals are half my age, if we met in the real world we probably would feel we had nothing to talk about, but online that simply doesn’t count. Also ethnic background is eliminated, lets face it, if some of you that visit my blog, who are from a different ethnic background than myself, met, we probably would nod politely and move on, we would wrongly assume that we had nothing to talk about.

I have often thought the blogosphere is contributing to understanding between the generations and the racial groups and blogging is a great thing.

So I am going to deliberately choose those younger than I, although that is not hard, or those of a different background, who have dropped in at this blog to present this award to.

Benny Liew a young man from Malaysia

Phillipe from France who has started coming to the ‘Ponderings page’. His blog is in French but we communicate in English.

Claire who is a student from Britain and who was one of the first to visit this blog back in 2006.

6 Responses

  1. Vic, thanks for the award.. i will spread it out..ya.. 🙂

  2. Misty is the BEST!

  3. Misty is awesome and so are you Vic. I love visiting both your blogs. Have a terrific day!

  4. How true Vic, of the friendships we make via the blogosphere! You and I know all about that aspect, quite well, don’t we?

  5. Hey vic, that seems so long ago now!!!

    Thank you for picking me 🙂

  6. Great point about age and ethnic differences Vic. I can’t believe I left those out, and I’m glad that you pointed them out!

    You are such a great person and a great friend – thank you!

Leave a Reply

