Attack by cranky bibliophies successful

We drove into town today to do a task that no one else in our little church has wanted to attack, sort out our church library.

The library was in such a mess, books stacked everywhere, and not alphabetically. So much crammed into the tiny room that one could hardly reach the sagging shelves anyway. Impossible to find anything. Plus it is being used as a general don’t know where to put it, stick it in there, and shut the door room. I have closets like that, don’t you?

We had to take all the books off the shelves, rearrange everything and put them all back. It was quite a task and we were dirty and tired when we had finished and very hot. There is still another section of CD’s, tapes and videos that have to be done but we left that until another day. We also had a great pile of duplicate books that we will try and encourage people to take. I hope now that people will go check out the library and borrow some books, there were some really good reads.

The ponder today is “You have something to offer that no one else has. Your fingerprints are distinctly yours and so is everything else about you. You are a gift for others to enjoy. How are you giving yourself to the people in your life?”

Well I don’t know that anyone else couldn’t have done this job but no one else wanted to, so I guess we filled the bill today. My back has a few twinges, my left shoulder hurts and my husband complained that his knees hurt. Can’t you tell we are getting a little old and cranky, at least the body is cranky.

7 Responses

  1. Hello, just wondered onto your blog and wanted to stop and say how much I have enjoyed reading your posts. I love the sort of library you describe, there is a second hand book shop near Ross on Wye and it is wonderful to explore, you never quite know what you will find.

    Take care.
    This N That.

  2. My churches library is very small. It’s stuck in the corner of the church hall.

  3. Our church library is also now a dual-purpose room – library and small conference room for small committee meetings or perhaps family type counseling meetings. They have book shelves ringing the room and then a big conference type table and chairs in the center. So far, it’s been fairly well kept and orderly -but one can understand how it can get out of control too quite easily with no one who is doing organization and shelving all the time. It’s a wonderful tool too but not that many people utilize it, unfortunately,

    Saw your “Heads or Tails” post here below – as usual, great photos.

    And yes, I’d say you and your husband both did something by giving of your abilities to clean and organize that was of great value too to the church – also to your own sense of satisfaction after the fact for a job well done, aside from the aches and pains reminders to you of the day. Just the muscles getting a bit crabby not the operators of them.

  4. What a wonderful gift to give to the church and all the members of it! I can only imagine how tired you were. By the way.. thanks for the great compliments on my blog. I really appreciate it.
    Dottie

  5. I would have loved to do that task. Organizing books just doesn’t seem like work for me. Plus I used to help out in the school library in 6th and 7th grade.

  6. Just dropping in to tell you I gave you an award 🙂

  7. Nearer, my God, to the end of the library shelves.

    Seriously, though, I hope the niggles and twinges are better, Vic.

Leave a Reply

