Consensus on Stumbling your own posts

Some good points came out of this post, that I think are worth consideration. Most liked the idea but I would also give the caution which Danielle brought up.

“if you stumble your own posts too much Stumble Upon catches on and frowns on that.”

Onedia’s idea I think is the best,

“Well, we can always just stumble each others posts when we find one worth commenting on and that takes care of that!”

Mayhem who used to do this practice but no longer does it as he felt it was not worth it.

“Though it did generate some huge numbers to my blog, that’s all it would do, just huge spikes in my analytics with nothing to gain from it.”

Chris Hoskin

“Is it not an odd practice to do this to your own posts?”

I agree with Chris and I would not have done it except I saw it mentioned on several of the blogs that I read about improving your blog in all ways including getting more readers. I think it would be counter productive to add all and every post you write, let’s face it some of them are not worth it, and that probably borders on spamming.

So for my new year’s resolution if I visit your blog and I think it is worth commenting, more than just “I popped in to say Hi,” then I will take the time to Stumble it for you. I hope you do the same for me. Maybe this will cause us all to apply ourselves a bit more to the craft of writing, what do you think?

I will stumble the odd post of my own if it is something I really want seen. For example I stumbled my post “Christmas Depression”. Although I found a few comments from my usual readers I received several e-mails from those experiencing this problem. I made it my business to take time on Christmas Day to check my e-mail and answer them. Some of those people had nothing else to do on Christmas but check out Stumbleupon so in that case I think it was worth Stumbling my own post.

9 Responses

  1. Hi Vic, I used to stumble my own when I was first started using SU. For some reason, it didn’t have any effect on my traffic. I got frustrated and left SU and never came back.

    Until one of my post got stumbled.

    I read more about SU and found out that stumbling your own post is like unethical in SU culture. So I stopped doing that before I pissed somebody off.

    What I am doing, however, is to stumble other bloggers’ post if I enjoyed reading it, or found it useful. I tried deleting my own stumbles but it appears it’s not possible.

    So far, the only site I feel comfortable promoting myself is bloggingzoom.com.

  2. found you on bc bloggers.

    in my experience, stumbling my own posts 3-4 times a month has brought me good traffic – not only with the spikes (boy, did i ever think that was weird when it first happened!) but it brings a nice, steady flow of regular readers.

    but of course those posts are embedded in WAY more stumbles of other posts.

    one of the things i do is try and see who stumbled or thumbed-up my posts and thank them.

  3. Yup, I’m with you on this Vic– I installed Stumble on your reccy and will use it to stumble good posts I read and those of mine that I feel passionate about.

  4. I had Stumble Upon at one time, but the toolbar is gone. All of this info. is very helpful to me though! Thanks for explaining how to do it.

  5. Great thread and post series……

  6. I didn’t know that they didn’t like it if you stumbled your own posts too much. I’m definitely not going to stumble my own now, just in case.

  7. I’m stumbling this post!

  8. My last foray here…..what we should care about way more than ‘how’ many people we reach, is ‘who’ we reach.

    I find it fascinating that the general mindset is still ‘gotta get more traffic’.

  9. I did notice an enormous increase on Christmas day in response to previously stumbled posts 😉 I like the idea of stumbling each other’s good posts. I will participate in that. Although it is true that it increases traffic for a day or two I have had several people subscribe from a ‘stumble’ post. Two subscribers out of 1,000 stumbles works for me 😉

Leave a Reply

