Thanks for your friendship along the way

When I moved over to WordPress from Blogger, due to technical problems, I was afraid I would loose so many readers and it would be hard to get going again but I am pleased to report since the day I moved Dec. 7 to Dec.31, I have had 2315 people who have stopped by. Some have stayed and commented and I know many will have clicked on, but I am getting the word out about the blog.

Without doubt Stumbleupon is the place to promote your blog. I have never used it much until recently when I read that it was alright to Stumble your own posts. So I have done that with some of the posts and the response has been remarkable. Also I would recommend Blogging Zoom and Zimbio. I don’t know if getting my own domain name has helped but I am still undecided about using hosting. I had actually gone ahead and bought a year’s hosting package and have been told the other day that they would host my WordPress blog for me, which would give me a lot more freedom than staying at Worpress.com but I am a bit reluctant, probably self-doubt that I could handle looking after it on my own. Maybe as the NewYear progresses I will feel more up to the challenge.

I have made many blogging friends since I started blogging in January 2006, some have drifted off, one has died, and many keep in touch. I don’t know what my emphasis will be in the coming year. I was given a day planner for Christmas by a friend in the village, and while it includes all the usual things it also has a question each day that is designed to stir ones thinking. In fact the last two posts have been created because of the questions asked in the day planner which started on Sunday 30th.

I will just share with you the thought for the day and leave it with you:

This is the last day of the year. One day it will be the last day of your life. How does the prospect of your own death put all of life into proper focus?

I have nothing to write myself on this, but I will paraphrase something I read recently in ‘Tuesdays with Morrie’ by Mitch Albom.

There was a little wave in the ocean, bobbing along happily and without any concerns until it saw the waves in front of him crashing against the rocks. The wave is horrified because it sees its fate is inevitable. Another wave asks it why it looks so disturbed and the little wave replies, “We are all going to end up like those waves and be nothing, I can’t bear it”. The other wave answers, “You don’t understand, you are not just a wave you are part of an ocean”.

So I would like to end this year by wishing you all the best in the new year and many blessings on the way.

14 Responses

  1. Hi,
    Just cruising the WordPress tags…
    If you are looking for a host, I recommend BlueHost.com which is also a recommended vendor by WordPress. (I don’t get anything.)

    They have a package called Fantastico which installs WordPress automagically.

    You’ll like having access to widgets that will run scripts.

    I can also recommend another old fart (besides me) who has helped me with my blog – just because he likes too.

  2. Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog. It’s good to hear that if one does change platforms that you don’t lose too much traffic! I’ve often thought about changing, but I’ll stick with Blogger for now. I liked your wave analogy, makes you think. Have a happy new year!

  3. Happy New Year Vic! Glad wordpress is working out for you. I love stumble.

    Thanks for your friendship as well.

  4. Wishing you an incredible 2008.

    Onedia

  5. I had just left you a long message but I guess I missed something and it didn’t print…I was saying it has been a long time since I have been at your site and I like what you have done……wishing you a very Happy New Year….and the very best for 2008

  6. Happy New Year Vic Grace. I don’t understand what you mean by stumbling your own posts, although I do not what Stumbleupon is. I’ll have to look into it.
    Take care

  7. I mean I do know what Stumbleupon is!

  8. Stopping by to wish you a very Happy New Year!!!

  9. Hi Vic, thanks also for all the support. I wish you all the best for 2008. I already signed up in zimbio a week ago, but I’m more active in BloggingZoom. Thanks also for the Stumble, and I added you in my list.

    Cheers!
    -Saedel

  10. I really do think the older one gets, the more you realize how little time there really may be left for you to actually “accomplish” something in your life. And as you look over the things you’ve done, all too often you get a feeling of failure -well I never wrote the “Great Novel” or I never discovered a cure for this or I never did that -my kids aren’t looking like they’ll make me famous for being their parents, therefore I must have been a lousy parent – etc., etc. The beat goes on. And even when you realize that you are still an important little cog in a great big wheel -or a wave in the ocean that has its purpose too -it can still be a bit difficult to accept that as being important and yet, all there is too. But then, maybe we have to stop and consider how many people who did achieve some form of greatness but never lived long enough to enjoy all the things life has to offer -much less live long enough to accept being part of being the mundane is not a bad deal after all.

  11. Vic,

    Thank you for the tip about Stumbleupon. I will give it a try. I hope you have a healthy, happy New Year.

    Regards,

    John

  12. May you enjoy each moment of the year 2008 Vic! šŸ™‚
    ~

  13. Happy new year vic! more healthy new year ya!

    oh ya hope to have you to mention my wordpress theme design contest here… since i saw you are also using wp..

    who knows you might be the lucky winner ya…

    regards,
    cashmarble.com

  14. Thanks for this WONDERFUL post Vic! I’ve missed visiting your blog so much! I’m back now though, aside from a couple miscellaneous things that I have to take care of. I’ll get caught up on all the posts that I missed, so don’t be alarmed when you receive a LOT of comments from me at one time šŸ˜‰

    I’ve been wondering how Stumble works, and I appreciate you taking the time to explain some of it.

    I wish you a spectacular 2008 and look forward to spending the year with you in the blogosphere.

Leave a Reply

