Still busy

Not forgotten about blogging just been a little busy. We had company for dinner yesterday so spent day preparing and I thought I should stay off the computer a bit since its Christmas. Today we went to the village pancake breakfast and socialized a bit and I have company again for supper. I am doing a ham this evening with scalloped potatoes, and left overs from yesterday.

Tomorrow we have to go into town so I won’t be back to my usual ways until Friday. Although this weekend I have to go down to the village library and finish the year-end bookkeeping chores and do payroll. I have given my volunteering notice to the library, as I often feel over my head with the bookkeeping, tax returns, financial statements, budget projections and meetings with the village exec to explain why we need money, etc.etc.  They probably will have a hard time finding someone else but if they approach them the same way as they got me roped in they will be alright. They told me that there would be just a few cheques to write each month, I could manage that couldn’t I.  I nearly wept when I saw how much I would be responsible for. I have done it now for four years it is someone else’s turn.

Anyway we have just been discussing visiting my husband’s sister this coming year in London Ontario, as she is well into her seventies. We plan to take about six weeks to drive across and back and maybe taking a month next winter and do the snow-bird thing and go to Mexico. So that gives me a good reason to get out of the library. although it might be hard on the blogging.

What would I need do you think to stay in touch with you all?  More gadgets, that’s what, I can hear my husband cringing as I even think about it, but actually what would I need if anything, or just lots of visits to internet cafes might do it, but not half the fun as a new gadget and do they have internet cafes in Mexico. I have been to Mexico three times and I am not that keen to go, as it is hot and dirty, as far as I am concerned, and you have to be so careful with your belongings. That sounds very prejudiced doesn’t it, but that is what I think. However hubby has never been and neither has his friend so I will have to be a good sport.

Well the potatoes are yelling at me to scallop them, and the leftovers need attention so I will catch you later. Thank you for all who sent a Christmas greeting. I so enjoy getting to know you all.

Blogged with Flock

Tags:

7 Responses

  1. A belated Merry Christmas, Vic. Have a great New Year! πŸ™‚

  2. I think you need a laptop to take with you πŸ˜‰ or do you already have one?

  3. I think we’ll be eating leftovers for a week. LOL! Sounds like a fun trip. You definitely need a laptop so you can post about it. :o)

  4. Don’t even mention leftovers to me! We have enough ham left from dinner on Monday that we could have a huge ham dinner every day for the entire week before it might all get used up!
    Your trip now – well, a laptop would be fantastic to have don’t you think? But I would imagine they have internet cafes in Mexico – a chance for you to get in and away from all the heat, right?

  5. Yes, you will find internet cafe’s in Mexico and if you go to the right place WIFI in your room. Most hotels have it, so a nice laptop should do finer! What a wonderful blog that would make to journal your adventure.

    A few years ago when I was IN THE WORLD working I demanded a real holiday for Thanksgiving (November in U.S. as you probably know) so off we went to Playa del Carmen on the Caribbean coast of Mexico to an all inclusive eco-friendly resort (Iberostar) that is well south of Cancun and heavily visited by Europeans and an older group than in Cancun. We loved it. Locked up the valuables in the room safe and hung out at the pool although excursions to Mayan ruins and such were available. I read books, drank tropical mixes and swam.

    Best Thanksgiving ever and the people were wonderful.

  6. Wow… it’s been a while since I’ve blogged. I’ve really lost touch over the last month or better. I’ve been pretty busy making gifts this year so the computer was set aside for a while. I like your new blog. Was it easy to set up…do you like it better than blogger?

  7. I can’t believe all that stuff they had you doing for the library! I’m on our library board here, so I know how much work goes into a lot of that. All that convincing people we need money! Some of them ask why the library can’t just close one day a week to save money – or other crazy things. We have a full-time director who handles everything. We love her! She runs things by us, and we usually say, “you’re doing a great job.”

    I tagged you to share what 2007 meant to you – if you can find the time.

Leave a Reply

