Tearing my hair out

I recently bought a domain name ‘caribooponder.com’, I haven’t advised everyone yet as it points to wordpress.com anyway and most people are too busy at this time of year to mess with their blogs. I thought I would ask everyone to change links in the New Year.

I then went ahead yesterday and purchased hosting from them. It was a good deal it seemed, but complicated, I have been trying for two days to design a template with their package, impossible, I can’t seem to save any changes, just publish and I was not ready to do that, and I was informed that I would have major control over my blog design if I used a hosting company, not so. I finally decided to use one of their templates as is, which I really did not want to do, they don’t have a great selection, however I went to import my stuff from here and it kept asking for my database, that wouldn’t work either.

Anyway I sent them an e-mail telling them I will keep the domain name I purchased with them as that is working fine but I don’t want their hosting package, they can refund me, not that it was much, or I will advise my credit card company not to pay them. I am seriously miffed, I had no trouble moving from blogger to wordpress and in my ignorance thought it would be simple to move again.

This is one unhappy blogger tonight.

11 Responses

  1. Vic,

    I have also considered changing domains to have greater flexibility over my blog template. Plus, if I was really thinking about it I would not have used my name as part of the blog url address. Now I hate to lose my readers. In addition, I have made so many little tweaks to my template it just doesn’t seem to be worth the effort to change. I have little enough time to post on the blog without the added hassle. Your experience makes me even less inclined to change.

    Best regards,

    John

  2. You may want to contact Heather…I am sure she will answer any questions you may have. Just as a note…I had problems with my subscribers and my google ratings when I used GoDaddy and was forwarding. You may want to check that out. I know your frustration. That is why I love Heather.

  3. Hi Vic,

    I am so sorry you are having to deal with this. I get so frustrated when any computer issue doesn’t work the way I want it to. I appreciate your visit and I wanted to tell you that I decorate for me. My daughter is coming home for Christmas but she doesn’t really care. I’ve considered dropping it but for whatever reason, I end up wanting to do it for myself. I hope your blogging issues are resolved with minimal stress. Regards, Carver

  4. Sorry to hear you are having these problems and I wish I had a single, solitary clue as to something to tell you and help you out. But for me to do something like that would truly be the blind leading the blind for sure as I am like Sgt. Schultz of the old Hogan’s Heroes – “I know nawthing.”
    With your perseverance levels being what they are, I am sure you will eventually figure something out – just frustrating getting things to the “eventual” part though isn’t it?

  5. I think your blog is just lovely the way it is. My motto is “If it aint’t broke don’t fix it.” What is it you don’t like about your blog the way it is now?

    I’ve had those moments of tearing my hair out, hence my avatar. What I’ve found is better to just let it go.

  6. I’m trying to change my blog over to GoDaddy, but I can’t seem to figure out how to pay them with PayPal. Every time I try to it just takes me to a credit card on PayPal and I just want to use my PayPal account. I got tired of fighting with it and gave up for a while. I think I’ll try again after Christmas. I have way too much to do now with it only being a week before Christmas.

  7. Well I miss all those lovely animal photos when I come here but I hear your frustration. I’m had to deal with Blogger changing the header and cutting my photo in half. Fortunately I got good help on the blogger forum. I am running a parallel blog on WordPress called Musings of Nobody Important. I’m trying to figure out how to put things in the sidebar! Also I wanted to add a plug-in and apparently I am too stupid to understand the instructions. After Christmas. Good luck with your blog. Somehow or other bloglines knows about your new name.

  8. I know the feeling, Vic…I recently lost my database and I have start a new one…post from the scratch…When come to a blog, it is always advisable to have separate host for domain and the blog (wordpress)…You really can take fully control over your blog by doing all the necessary basic things to set up a hosted blog…If you want to read my experiences fixing my wordpress hosted blog, just visit my blog, nimrodjo.com.. .c ya around…:)

  9. Hi Vic, you already know what I wanted to say πŸ˜› Just dropping by to say thank you very much for your reply in the email. I really felt it.

    Good luck with your blog, and if you still need assistance, feel free to shoot me an email.

    -Saedel

  10. I noticed you are using your domain now. I haven’t had a chance, but I will update my links.

    Sorry I can’t help you with hosting or WordPress because I know nothing about them. The only thing I’ve heard other people suggest is to have a secondary blog on your host server. Then, if you want to play around with the template, you can do it with the test blog. Once you get it right, you can apply it to your real blog.

  11. Ahh, GoDaddy. πŸ˜€

    I steer clear of domain registrars that use hot babes, fast chicks, and big bikes to market their services. And did I mention GoDaddy’s head honcho is pro-torture? In more ways than one. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

