Google can’t make up its mind

I had been Page Rank 3 with Google for a long time and then a week or two ago I suddenly was Page Rank 4, but now I seem to have been demoted to 2.

Since the companies that pay you for writing about topics on your blog seem to consider this page rank important it is not great that this has happened. I have read recently that a lot of well known blogs have been demoted also, at least I am in illustrious company.

It was on the news today that Google is going to get into the mobile phone business, or at least partner with the current mobile phone companies. A mobile phone is the next gadget on my list, but I probably won’t get it until next spring when I take my first long trip on my own in my new car. It is about 19 hours by Greyhound from here to Calgary, where two of my sons live, but I am not sure how long it will take if I drive it, even so I will feel better if I have a phone with me.

We have a package with General Motors that guarantees that they will come out anywhere for whatever reason if we call them, but on the long stretches of road between here and Calgary there is very little population so I would not want to be walking to find a phone. Hubby thinks I am paranoid “Nothing is going to happen, its a new car, you worry to much”, but I think it will be wise to get a phone. I wonder if it will be Googleized by then.

6 Responses

  1. I think we are on the same brain wave! I just did two posts about this!

  2. Too much Google on the internet, they want to control it. I am under the impression that they want to monopolize the cyberspace.

    Re: PageRank, I hope I could get one as soon as my site reaches 3-months which is in 3 weeks. 🙂

  3. Google is being mean to me, too. I had a 3, and then it went to a 2, and now this week, it’s a 1. It makes absolutely no sense!

    I think it’s wise to get a phone, too. You never know what could happen.

    I have an award for you.

  4. While your hubby may well be right that you are being paranoid, I think you still should have a phone. Even if you had a flat tire… or saw someone else broken down or in an crash, it can be a good thing to have a phone… especially along the ‘highway of tears’.

    This whole Google thing is aggravating. First it took something like 6 months for them to change the PR, and now they are ‘screwing’ with people. I’m lucky so far in that my PR3 went to PR4, and my PR0 to PR3… but for how long who knows. I think if they had adjusted them months earlier like they were supposed to, we would’ve gone higher… some of our hard work, our amassed links, expired before they even saw them.

    And I agree with Saedel… Google does seem to be monopolizing cyberspace. They have too much power and need to be ‘trimmed’ a bit.

  5. Hi!

    Same thing happened to a forum I’m administering. Shot up to 3, went back to 2, and settled on 1.

    There’s supposed to be a new algorithm in place. Mass linking sites are being punished. Maybe they’re still testing the new system.

    Let’s just cross our fingers and hope for the best when everything clears up. Google supposedly favors quality content.

    Many webmasters also prefer inbound links and unique visitors to a high PR because it’s people who click the ads and caribooponderer has a loyal following. Maybe it’s time to get some PPC programs inside the site. 😀

  6. My feedburner subscription list has been doing some crazy things these last few days…I read Problogger and he generally informs me of problems in these areas…..and I read that Feedburner is having some glitches…not sure about Google but I do know that they have been undergoing some major changes.

Leave a Reply

