One of my achievements of which I am proud

One of the achievements of which, I think, I am justifiably proud is home schooling my three sons. In the 1980’s we moved quite a bit during their younger years, and I felt it would mean more continuity in their schooling if I home schooled. I am not a teacher by profession so this was quite a challenge. I often had to study up on a subject the night before.

We obtained a curriculum to follow and purchased a computer with the idea that we could get some online tutoring help if needed, but at that time there did not seem to be much available. There were many times when I felt I could have used some assistance, particularly with math and I was very nervous about starting algebra as it held mysteries for me, which I had never really mastered while in school. However we struggled on and eventually settled in a town on Vancouver Island where I was able to enroll the boys in school. The transition went comparatively smoothly. They were 12, 14 and 16 at the time and I was a bit concerned that there might be gaps in their education as I had not been able to find a tutor I could afford.

Nowadays, there are more options for parents to obtain tutoringfor their children and quite inexpensively. After the boys started attending school, they were introduced to the concept of homework that was to be done after school hours. This was not met with delight, I can assure you, from any of us. They thought of it as doing home schooling as well as attending school. I would have welcomed some assistance with their homework as, by then, I was a single parent and working full time, mostly in the evenings and weekends, so I was not always available to help, and anyway they were starting to get into subjects that I had not covered in my years at school.

My eldest son and his wife are now considering home schooling for their boy, not yet in Kindergarten, and I am happy that there are more options for them to get help than I had.

4 Responses

  1. There are times when homeschooling is the best for the child. The schools today scare me. We’ve had so many problems with bullying in the school that my grandsons’ attend. I think if I had kids today I would homeschool them. In our city there is a homeschooling association. The families get together and take the kids on outings to museums, science centers, libraries etc. They learn through both academic and lifeskills.

    I enjoyed my visit, as always.

    Blessings,
    mary

  2. I have no husband and no children, so no personal experience here, however, I do know that a lot of people home school there kids now, and it was pretty rare when you were doing so with your sons. Sounds like you did a great job with no help. Today there is a lot more of everything on the internet, and being fairly common to home school there is a lot more help online, or so it sounds to me.

    I’m not sure if home schooling is a good thing or not, there are pros and cons, so hopefully those that choose to do it have ways to socialize the kids with other kids outside the family.

  3. Whoooff… I was home schooled. Mom taught me to sit, stay, lay down… all that kinda stuff. Sometimes I don’t listen to her thou cuz I get too excited. I gets socialized by going to the dog park and playin’ woof friends. And I now got 2 new friends that have a yard I can play in when Mom goes there fur tea. Arf, Bark.

  4. In Malaysia, homeschooling is yet to be implemented…the government make it compulsory for all to study in schools…I think homeschooling is great for children that have excellent mind yet they like the freedom of learning…I enjoy reading your story…

Leave a Reply

