Heads or Tails #10 Train

Skittles has started a new meme for every Tuesday called visit her blog for instructions. Basically she gives us a word and we can do whatever we like with it. This week we have the word Train

In my younger days I planned to write a book about dog training I was going to call it “How to be a Perfect Bitch.” The dog training theory is don’t expect your dog to come to your level but train it like a mother dog would. People are far to soft on dogs and this is not good for dogs which are a pack animal and find security in strong leadership. If they don’t get it they will try and take over themselves. Sharing your bed is asking for disobedience in a dog, because they interpret that as admission from you that you are on equal standing, so then they try and become the boss. I have forgotten a lot of stuff but some of it is fairly common sense.

I have always had dogs, Taffy the Corgi, Bronwen the Whippet, Elsa the Akita bear dog, Cody the Golden Retriever, Bradley the Labrador Retriever, Bambi the Besenji, and now Annie the Maremma. All so very different in temperament and characteristics.

View more participants in the “Heads or Tails” meme.

4 Responses

  1. I’m surprised more people didn’t decide to use this meaning of train. I almost wrote about training our dog not to bark all the time!

  2. My daughter agrees with you a hundred percent. She was just complaining the other night about this problem. Her dogs, wild and crazy beagles, were unruly and, well, just awful. One has a behavioral disability (or something) and needs constant training but Amy never gives up and is on them all the time. They have become controlled and less anxious now as a result: calm and collected. They adore her but don’t fear her. (But uhhh yeah the one sleeps with me at times, but less and less as she matures).

  3. Haha, I love the name of the book. I almost thought of doing a similar post…but I decided on a different angle.

    If you have a chance, please stop by my blog.

  4. Thanks for the info.
    i’ve been looking for blog like this… very useful. Thanks again

    You’ve helped me to fill my blog at
    Dog Training with another useful information. 🙂

Leave a Reply

