Something to grouse about

For the last ten days or so I have been hearing something like a small motor trying to start but not quite making it. I couldn’t figure out what it was. It went on for hours every twenty minutes or so. Yesterday I tried to track it down because it was starting to keep me awake. I thought something may have gone wrong with one of the vents on the roof or something underneath the place but I couldn’t figure it out and my husband who is hard of hearing couldn’t hear it.

I discovered the culprit yesterday. A large male grouse was displaying on top of our woodpile, in fact he sat in the same place making this noise yesterday just about all day. This morning he woke me at 3:36 am and has kept it up most of the day although he has moved a bit into the bush right now. I hope he finds a mate soon as both of us will get cranky and tired.

3 Responses

  1. I love your description there – “A motor trying to start” huh? Pretty accurate description there considering what his goal was don’t ‘cha think? Hope he finds a mate soon too so you can get your proper rest then too. (But I betcha he’s wishing harder than both of us put together too for results!)

  2. Hi Vic,
    Thanks for commenting on Greece on my blog.
    You certainly have a great blog as well.

    Cheers,
    Michael

  3. This is freaky, yesterday I searched outside several times trying to figure out what the motor was trying to start. . . it drove me insane not knowing what the sound was. It may not have been a grouse, I don’t know if they have them, but we are in farm country and with lots of small wooded areas as well. Maybe. . . . I’ll have to read about them. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

