Birds that visit my yard and feeders

Birds that come to our feeders and yard

1.Stellar’s Jays come all year around. One has a reportoire of noises, dog barks and engine crankings
2.Whiskey Jacks or Gray Jays also comes all year around. The Stellar’s Jay usually chase them away
3.Red-breasted Nuthatch all year around, last spring a male spent a lot of time checking out each of our bird houses, even brought a female to check them out and then they decided against any. I call them Sid birds after our friend who couldn’t make up his mind where he wanted to live.
4.White-breasted Nuthatch sparodically
5.Juncos show up in Spring and stay late in Fall, very timid usually give in to other birds
6.Red-winged blackbirds very rarely but they sit in the trees and watch us and sing
7.Evening Grosbeaks, looks like a small yellow parrot come in huge flocks in Spring and Fall
8.Purple Finches
9.Pine Siskins so tame that they don’t move if you go right up to them
10.Chickadees always cute, they take a sunflower seed and fly off to eat it
11.Rufous Hummingbirds arrived today
12.Black Chinned Hummingbirds also arrived today, the two Hummingbird types fight all the time
13.Sparrows of all sorts, including the golden crowned, white crowned, very bossy

8 Responses

  1. Great idea for a T13. We keep a bird feeder outside out breakfast room window. We see lots of purple finches, black-capped chicadees, tufted titmouses (or is it titmice?) cardinals, and lots of others

  2. Hi Vic,
    Thanks for visiting my TT.
    Yours was very interesting. I wish I could identify more birds (other than sparrows, robins and redwinged blackbirds!)
    When I lived in Bermuda, the kiskadees were so bold! I found one in our house eating the catfood one day! – Came in through an open window.

  3. What an assortment of birds! I would have never guessed you got so many different kinds of birds that far north. Lovely post. And thanks for visiting my TT.

  4. You are so lucky to have all those birds. I just moved away from the countryside, where I had several of the birds you mention. I identified 15 species, and there were two others I could hear but not see, therefore unable to identify.

    Now I’m in town, and while some of my neighbours have bird feeders, I do not (yet). I am also not sure which species are around — I know we have a lot of starlings and common crows, and some kind of yellow bird (finch?) but other than that, not sure. I don’t think we have hummingbirds — I fed them constantly last summer where I was living.

  5. Hi,

    We have a lot of the same birds too. I get such a charge out of watching them. We have two feeders out the back and at this time of year it is grand central station. The aerial dynamics are amazing. We don’t have any stellar Jays … the folks have the Whiskey Jacks (gray jays) at their house but we don’t. We do have Flickers and the odd time we see a Pileated Woodpecker. Have even have had Downeys around. Across the road at the golf course some Meadow Lark live and we love their song … so bold and strong … but they stick to the open areas. Our back yard is quite treed. Anyway enjoy your birds … we sure enjoy ours! We count all the seed we buy as a good investment in entertainment!

  6. Really appreciate your THursday thirteen here! I am so un-knowledgeable about birds, identification, etc., you can’t imagine. I can identify a robin, blue jay and cardinal and a grouse -ok, wild turkey too, I suppose but beyond those species for the feathered friends, I am dead in the water! While I can still see, I really should pay more attention to the wildlife around me.

  7. My dad would love this,he is bird mad.
    I still cant get my head around the fact that you get hummingbirds in such a cold place.

  8. Hi,

    Very nice blog you have here. Interested in a link exchange blogroll with mine? We’re almost on the same topic. Check http://www.news.worldwild.org and feel free to drop a line anytime.

    All the best,
    Adela

Leave a Reply

