They’re back and they’re out

The first of the Canada Geese flew over our place this morning on their way north. About a hundred ribboned their way across the sky honking encouragement to each other. We look forward to them returning every year as the first sign of Spring. I pulled out the Humming Bird feeders today in anticipation of their return soon. We have a few birds stopping at our feeder as they return to their breeding grounds. Mostly sparrows but is amazing at their variety.

Along with that the first bears have been sited. A mother with two cubs along the road. Unfortunately the snow is still with us so they will have a few weeks of difficult foraging. This will probably deter me from walking our dog as much as I have in the last few weeks. I have developed a bit of a phobia about bears since my run in with one last year.

It is garbage day tomorrow and I put the can out already but I wonder if it will be attacked tonight, we threw some fish out and that is an invitation to a bear. Our can has a nice array of teeth marks on it as it is, but the garbage lady comes so early on Thursday mornings we have to put it out at night. As summer comes on I start getting up at about 5:30 am and I will put it out then.

My husband and his friend watched the hockey game between the Vancouver Canuks and the Anaheim Mighty Ducks and now there are exclamations of complete disgust because the Canuks lost.

5 Responses

  1. You have bears, I have crows … attacking the garbage that is. Our garbage day is Thursday too and they come anywhere between 7:15 and 8:00 a.m. My sister-in-law two streets away had a bear in her garbage last fall, so bears are a possibility … just not a big one. Unfortunately, they might have shot that bear … too many people with small children around.

    Our snow is been gone and the ice is completely off of the lakes but we are in the south Cariboo area … our geese have been back for a while. A few trumpeter swans around too, on their way north. I didn’t realize that your area was still part of the Cariboo. (It sounds like you are from around Houston/Smithers?) My husband worked many summers up in Smithers. He really liked Smithers. I was in Smithers once to visit … hiked on Hudson Bay Mtn and did some other touristy things.

  2. What an interesting, colorful slice of life. Thanks for sharing it.

    And my sympathies on your loss – my Rangers got it handed to them as well. Hopefully they’ll both do better in Game 2!

  3. We have something attacking our garbage here too – I see this morning the can has been upended and a lot is strewn around near the roadway. We had problems last summer with raccoons, then thought the neighbor’s dogs were the culprits but since she moved and that eliminates the dogs from the picture, I’m wondering if the ‘coons are back again!

  4. Hi Vic Grace,
    Just popping by to check out things. I think you’ve got the comments turned off on the Thursday Thirteen post. At least I couldn’t see how to leave one. Going blind? Possible.
    Nice image you found for this post.
    Bears! I have some camping stories of bears.
    regards
    jmb

  5. It must be something, to watch the earth come back to life! Ours is certainly not as extreme a rebirth as yours. I love Canada geese. Their coloring is beautiful. One of my best paintings is of geese taking off in the morning.
    Watch out for those bears. I have an interesting post about them on my blog…
    ~~~Blessings~~~

Leave a Reply

