I’ve lost my ability to understand English

I think I’ve lost my ability to understand English.

That must be the case because I have been doing our tax returns which has caused me a headache and a dose of heartburn.

Some of the roundabout explanations have me boggled. Its not that we have a lot of income but the tax gods want one form filled out before you can complete the other one and then it all comes to zero. Or you have to complete a form that they haven’t sent you.

I was told I am relatively smart but I have this trauma every year. My husband just growls “Pay someone to do it” but I can’t see doing that when basically we don’t have that much to report.

6 Responses

  1. thx for the visit…and the encouagement re the state of my blog. I’ll have to see what I want to do about it.

    I totally concur about your post re taxes….but thank goodness for e-file….that’s a saviour..plus hubby does it then!

  2. We use QuickTax…I like it a lot.

  3. Great statue! This very week I have had a ‘disgreement’ with the tax man. And on the tiny amount I earn it’s quite pathetic.

    Thanks for dropping in to my blog. It sounds like you live in a wonderful place!

  4. Long ago, I came to the conclusion that the people who put together the tax laws and other social welfare program edicts must have a specific type of ability to write rules and regulations in a convoluted manner – so that they are probably then the only ones who understand these things!

    They should have to try to follow their instructions and see how confusing they appear then to the average person – or, after death, be sentenced to a purgatory that consists solely of filling out forms in double-talk!

  5. Dang, with all the taxes you folks pay up there during the year I’m surprised there’s anything left! LOL!

    Ain’t tax time wonderful?

  6. Well, maybe you’ll feel better knowing you won a “perfect post” award! Check out my site. Check your email too!

    Hope those taxes get done!

Leave a Reply

