Stillness

I came across this in a blog called Life2.0 the other day.

To experience reality, to know the truth of anything in fact, we must learn to set thought aside and become still.
The natural world helps us to do this. It constantly calls us back to the simply awareness of ‘what is’ and ‘who we are’.

I have always found the nature has helped me become still. Early this morning I walked Annie the dog and it was utterly still. There was nothing about except us, only the occasional twitter of a chickadee was all that I could hear. It was quite mild and sunny and the skies were clear, the snow still crisp under my feet and I was all alone in the stillness of the wilderness.

I think there is a place inside each person, unique to them, that if they can find it they can retreat to and experience stillness and rest. My place, I suppose is very English. I see it as a small cozy room, with a burning fire in the hearth, books on the walls, a large maroon armchair and a small table with a glass of wine and some bread beside it.

As I was looking at this inner chamber I realized there are no windows in my room, I wondered why. Perhaps it is because the world cannot invade my conscious there.

How do you find stillness?

5 Responses

  1. yvVic, I spent my share of time in the woods, and I’m right there with you, whenever you talk about your surroundings. I know the exact way it looks when you describe a day like you did today.

  2. Your walk brought to mind a walk two of my uncles and 3 of my cousins and I took one Christmas night about 50 years ago as we strolled along the thick snow-covered road from home down to the ghost town about 1 1/2 miles from here. Snow crunched under foot and the low chatter between my uncles was broken only, initially, by light-hearted conversation between my cousins and myself. That is, until my one uncle decided to scare the living daylights out of us by sneaking along a pathway near the road and jumping out in front of us on that moonlit snowcovered road! We thought for sure there was a ghost at large!

  3. I find stillness when I’m waist deep in the Klamath River swinging a big wooly bugger through a deep run waiting for a fish to bite, or not.

  4. I find stillness when i have reached a certain point on a hike, not necessarily the highest point, but the part where you just look around and nobody speaks.
    I think you can find stillness in a few places but only if your in the right frame of mind.

  5. I think my favorite time is in the woods during winter. The sound of silence is deafening…talk about a place for peaceful contemplation.

    When I lived in NH (about 2 years), we would often have moose pass right by our sliding glass doors. It was quite a place, but not economically.

Leave a Reply

